New Releases: October 2010

Now things are really kicking into high gear with a number of releases, and even a few surprises, for October! The Move kicks it up a notch, Vanquish redefines third person shooters, Shantae finally gets a sequel, and best of all: the Lufia II remake comes out in America! Awesome!

-Week 1-

Shantae: Risky’s Revenge (DSi Ware)

The original Shantae was a side-scrolling classic on Gameboy Color that pushed the system to it’s limits. Sadly, it took so long to find a publisher that by the time it hit the GBA was already out and the GBC was old news. As such it sold poorly and while a sequel was planned and nearly finished for GBA, it was never released as no one would publish a sequel to a game that sold so poorly. They attempted to make a sequel for DS as well but once again no one would publish it. Finally, thanks to DSi Ware, they can publish it themselves! Brace for impact, folks, this game is gonna be epic.

Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light (DS)

A back-to-basics Final Fantasy with an oddly Animal Crossing-esque presentation and FF1’s plot. Sadly it’s also a somewhat dumbed down Final Fantasy with limited control over the cast and the characters are not customizeable, they just wear different hats. Still it looks intriguing enough that I can’t help but want to try it.

Haunted House (Wii)

This looked like generic shovelware at first but upon closer inspection it’s actually a direct sequel to Haunted House on the Atari 2600. I am not making this up. If it’s cheap enough, I’ll take a look.

-Week 2-

Sonic 4: Episode 1 (Wii Ware, XBLA, PSN)

Here it is, the game that’s too fast, too slow, too homing, too Dimps, and too green eyed to be any good! Hitting the Wii first and everything else shortly afterwards, Sonic 4 may finally destroy the insane fandom as they caniballize themselves over it. Me? I wish it had more characters because I’m a horrible human being!

Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals (DS)

Wait what?! I thought this wasn’t coming to America! Sure enough though, it is (Dear SquareEnix: release SaGa 2 next please). For those of you who don’t know, this is a DS remake of Lufia II in the form of an action RPG. That might annoy some, but what you don’t know is that the original Lufia team actually made Shining Force Neo and Shining Force EXA! As such they’ve got experience in the field (Shining Force EXA was awesome) and combined with Lufia’s signature awesome writing, this is a match made in heaven!

Dragon’s Lair Trilogy (Wii)

It got delayed. I want my budget priced three pack of Don Bluth psuedo-game goodness, dammit!
Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes (Wii/PS3)

The Sengoku Basara series finally returns to America…on Wii and PS3?! Sure enough it’s made for Wii and ported to PS3. Unfortunately they cut all my favorite characters and are toning down the silly, so I’m avoiding it until I get my Itsuki/Puff, Matsu/Bramble, and Venus back (I actually like their US names). There is literally no one I want to play as.
The Shoot (PS3 Move)

A lightgun-style rail shooter for the Move where you play an actor in a number of movies. It’s very accuracy based and does do some cool things with controller tracking based on the demo I played, so I intend to pick it up.

-Week 3-

Kirby’s Epic Yarn (Wii)

A new 2D sidescrolling Kirby game made entirely out of yarn. Awesome. Yeah, I tend to write less about games everyone already intends to buy.
DJ Hero 2 (360, PS3, Wii)

When I reviewed the original DJ Hero, I thought it was a guaranteed hit. I was wrong. But a DJ Hero 2 is still coming and while I don’t think it will add as much as a sequel should, it will provide us all with more tracks to scratch along to. I mean heck, they’ve got a captive audience now and with the original and it’s controller in bargain bins, maybe someone will give this one a spin.
Active Life Explorer (Wii)

Why does this look so good? No really, it looks like an old Namco arcade game and is giving me nostalgic feelings. It reminds me a little of Prop Cycle for some reason. I might buy this eventually.

Vaniquish (360, PS3)

You have 48 hours to stop that from happening. You will stop that from happening. I don’t know what I’m stopping but with rocket sliding and Steven J. Blume on my side, I’m up to the task in what appears to be best described as “Japan does Gears of War better”.

Rock of the Dead (360, PS3)

Typing of the Dead mixed with Guitar playing?! Well heck, if it’s cheap enough, I’ll bite.

Time Crisis: Raizing Storm (PS3)

Compatible with both the Move and Guncon 3, Time Crisis: Raizing Storm is a triple pack containing Raizing Storm, Time Crisis 4 (now with Move support), and Deadstorm Pirates. Guncon 3 owners will want to buy this and may even want to consider getting a Move instead of a second Guncon 3.

-Week 4-

Bakugan: Defenders of the Core (360, PS3, DS, PSP, Wii)

I know nothing about Bakugan. I do, however, know that this game looks like Godzilla meets Dragon Ball Z and I am down with that. Defenders of the Core looks to be some kind of fighter featuring gigantic Bakugan monsters and some excellent cel-shading. What’s most surprising is that even the DS version looks exceptional with full 3D models and identical looking gameplay!
Rock Band 3 (360, PS3, Wii, DS)

Rock Band is good stuff. Rock Band 3 adds more content and a keyboard on top of support for all existing songs, of which I already have many. I am down with this. I just hope I can import my old band as I have no clue how I got my vocalist to look so cute.

Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (PSP)

I don’t buy PSP games. I’m buying this. It’s a strategy game where you make your own sentai hero.

Fable III (360)

Fable was fun so I’ll probably buy this…yeah that’s all I got. I learned not to follow Peter Molenuex’s games too closely.

Chuck E. Cheese’s Kart Racing (Wii)

Yes, this is a real thing. No, I’m probably not buying it. I’m only listing it to see if it has the Rock-A-Fire Explosion in it (because seriously, what are you gonna do about characters?). If it does, and it’s cheap, I’m buying it. Otherwise? No. Long story.

The Fight: Lights Out (PS3 Move)

The Move game everyone is banking on. Most of the people who showed up to the Move’s midnight launch (yes, people did show up at my store) were waiting for this. The Fight is a black and white, grim and gritty, motion controlled fighting game that tracks full arm and even head movement. Unfortunately, early reports have been mixed as to if it’s laggy or not. I know the controller itself can handle it as it tracked my spontaneous air guitar solos in Sports Champions Beach Volleyball quite well, it all depends on what the developers did.

God Eater Burst (PSP)

Namco’s entry in the “Monster Hunter Clone” genre. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t like Monster Hunter but I love it’s “clones” so I am buying this.

Explore posts in the same categories: New Releases

Leave a Reply

