New Releases – January 2013

HAPPY NEW YEAR everybody! So what do we have to look forward to in this brave new year? Well plenty in March but THIS month? Not so much. Welcome to January, people.

1/03

Unchained Blades (3DS)

Coming as a download only, Unchained Blades is a port of a PSP dungeon crawler featuring an all-star crew of designers working on it.I admit to not looking much into it, but I’ll totally bite and grab it at a low downloadable price.

 

1/08
Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable (Vita)

EDF2017 is an unquestionable cult classic and this enhanced Vita port brings with it many features the game should have had: 4-player co-op and jetpack wielding female Pale Wing! It’s times like this when I wish I had a Vita.

 

1/08
Anarchy Reigns (360, PS3)

That’s right, it’s finally coming! Anarchy Reigns is a brawler and semi-sequel to Mad World from Platinum Games. It was 100% complete and in English back in July but SEGA’s poor financial state coupled with the fact that they knew this would get awful review scores made it unfeasible to release it in the US. Now, however, it’s finally coming and at a $30 super budget price to boot! THIS was a very good call as, honestly, the game is not worth $60. If you’re wondering, the knuckleheads who put it together focused on VERSUS play in a game with rather shallow beat ’em up combat rather than co-op play (which is restricted to a Survival mode). It also lacks any sort of local multiplayer. It does, however, have what seems to be a pretty fun single play campaign and at $30? It might be worth picking up just for that.

 

1/22

Ni no Kuni (PS3)

Studio Ghibli’s cel-shaded PS3 RPG has turned a lot of heads and I can’t help but be intrigued if only out of desperation for a new JRPG. I do, however, wish it was a little more Mononoke/Jade Cocoon or Nauusica-esque. Ah well, special edition preordered.

Explore posts in the same categories: New Releases

7 Comments on “New Releases – January 2013”

  1. Sleepy Says:

    Happy New Year Gel! I’m looking forward to every single one of those games you mentioned. I’m also looking forward to DmC and the XBLA version of Retro City Rampage.

    • GEL Says:

      XD Me and DmC aren’t on speaking terms. I like the stage design though, VERY neat looking. But I have SO many issues with that game. Doesn’t help that I hate hate HATE Ninja Theory!

      …to their credit, DmC is probably the best game they’ve ever made.

      Retro City Rampage though? Cannot wait for the 360 release!

  2. Billy Says:

    The lack of local multiplayer killed my interest in Anarchy Reigns.

    I wonder if they made a push for online multiplayer after Mad World received its poor reception. I kind of hope not, because it might mean that they didn’t understand why Mad World got that reception. Mad World, bluntly, just wasn’t that good. Conflicted design that encouraged over-use of its limited canned weapon/environment animations and which didn’t match the game that people thought they were getting. (It was a bad sign when an interview told how they were making enemies dumber so the player could concentrate on getting high scores.)

    • GEL Says:

      *nods* Can’t blame you on the lack of local. But what drives ME bonkers is that it’s a focus on VERSUS online but it lacks the meat to be a decent fighter. If it was CO-OP online the game would be great. But competitively it’s garbage. Basically boils down to a shitty game of tag.

      That said I can safely say it is WAAAY better than Mad World. Bosses are actually hard, sizeable swarms of normals, decent amount of special moves for a beat ’em up with some limited combo capabilities, and it’s not about just shoving as many signs into people as possible. So a decent to good brawler, hence my endless whining about the lack of co-op!

      To put it another way, imagine if someone tried to pass Spike Out off as a fighting game. That’s what I mean by “good for a beat ’em up, bad for a fighter”.

  3. Billy Says:

    On an unrelated note, I’ve been playing the PC version of Blades of Time, and I remembered your own comments about the game.

    With the PC version, I’ve certainly seen glitches. Nothing that kills the game, but they might be similar to complaints that people had about the console version. Time rewind generally works, but sometimes enemies change positions for no obvious reason. Sometimes it is minor, sometimes it is a bit more obvious that something is going wrong. With two time clones active and doing their own things, I’ve seen the enemy with the regeneration tank on his back simply teleporting around the room. And time rewind didn’t seem to affect the giant sand worm boss, who would just hit me again immediately.

    I also managed to trigger a few other glitches. I managed to get myself stuck in one of the armored underlings in the Vicar fight. Hitting time rewind shot me over to the Vicar, so I wasn’t stuck stuck. In the giant sandworm fight, I managed to get stuck in a floating hit pose, I think I triggered it by hitting Back to look at the entry in the book while being hit by the worm. I couldn’t get out of it, and eventually burned to death when I floated into the sun. (I was slowly drifting right, presumably because that was the direction the hit animation was moving me when I got stuck.

    I don’t know if it was some difference between the PC and console version, but I didn’t have any trouble in the sequence of trapped jumps that you showed in your video. The jumps seemed specifically spaced for a double jump air dash, to the point that about the only way to miss one is to get hit, and you didn’t need particularly good timing to avoid being hit. (On the other hand, the last jump in the moving laser beam room really annoyed. For some reason I could never get the timing down.)

    • GEL Says:

      There probably are some differences and I later learned from watching videos how drastically different everyone’s experiences were with the game. The GameTrailers review showed the floor of a stage not loading in for example. Just utterly strange.

      That said, yes the sandworm boss is unaffected by time rewind. Prooobably should have mentioned that XD But I don’t think that’s a glitch.

      I guess I just lucked out and had a freakishly near glitch free experience. Maybe the game was tested on older model 360s or something? Just weird.

      • Billy Says:

        The more I think about it, the more I want to think that the sandworm is a glitch.

        Time rewind in general either works or it isn’t available at all. I can’t think of anything that just partially ignores it. But with the sandworm, the sandworm would go for an attack no matter when I had started or stopped a rewind. It both felt and looked wrong, compared to everything else in the game.

        The sandworm looks like it was designed for time rewind double and triple teams, with how you would break its shell and then pound on the vulnerable part. But then he doesn’t behave properly when you do time rewind…


Leave a Reply

