New Releases – March 2013

Hooray! It’s freakin’ March, the end of the first financial quarter and thus the time when we see all the games that couldn’t quite make a Christmas releases. In recent years this has become better than Christmas for me personally, due to my love of obscure Japanese-made games. This year it’s not too release-packed but it still has some interesting ones.

03/05

 Castlevania: Lords of Shadow – Mirror of Fate (3DS)

Alright, really iffy on this one. On one hand it’s a 2.5D Castlevania, on the other hand it’s Lords of Shadow. There’s a demo up on the Nintendo e-Shop, I played it and still don’t know if I like it. I like that it shows you where to go and the side scrolling elements make it better than the previous Lords of Shadow (which I loathed), but enemies really do take too many hits to kill, there are too many mechanics in-play, and I don’t like the Tomb Raider-style ledge jumping.
Atelier Ayesha: The Alchemist of Dusk (PS3)

On one hand it’s another Atelier game so I have some interest. Not to mention it looks gorgeous. On the other, I hear it has no Japanese audio option? *checks* Yup. It puts me in quite a pickle. I’ve wagged my own finger at a lot of people for not supporting the games they talk about because on minor things, but I don’t consider the lack of Japanese voice acting a minor thing as literally every other installment of the franchise has had this. More than that, I’ve found the previous dubs to be rather painful. Not ADV bad, and even better than previous games it seems,but not quite good enough I’d want to listen to them. I would love an explanation as to why they didn’t include Japanese audio though. I admit the only reason I bought these was because they are super pretty JRPGs and not because of any investment in the series itself. However, even though I’m not a big fan of the series I have made a vow to purchase it immediately if they ever patch in Japanese audio (which this company has done in the past).

Tomb Raider (360, PS3)

Honestly I’m pretty sick of series reboots that try to make characters “more human” as they have all been awful and this one I am particularly perplexed with. It seems to be the single most concentrated effort to make Lara Croft into a “true female character” but much of it rubs me the wrong way. On the other hand, the idea of an almost survival horror-esque game where the horror comes from surviving an awful situation? Kind of interesting. On the third hand, I never liked Tomb Raider. As such I am just listing this as something I intend to rent out of curiosity.
03/12

Darkstalkers Resurrection (XBLA, PSN)

Hey! It’s two Darkstalkers with online play! Sweet! I’d like to give Vampire Hunter another spin as while all my favorites were introduced in 3, the original and VH had far better presentation (as usual) which I did not indulge in nearly enough.
03/19

 Dead or Alive 5 Plus (Vita)

If the Vita wasn’t so stupidly expensive thanks to its proprietary memory cards, I’d get this. I love DOA5 and the included cheerleader outfit for Tina makes it all the more enticing. As it stands I guess I’ll just be waiting on the hopeful 360 DLC.

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (3DS, WiiU)

I love Monster Hunter clones but wow do I hate Monster Hunter! Still, with nothing else to play on the WiiU I guess I’ll give this a shot. What is this, my 5th chance I’ve given Monster Hunter?
03/21

Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory (PS3)

This is the first time I’ve preordered something through a company website for a super special edition. When I saw that this game would have the PC Engine in it, I was in. Well, that and the fact that this series has been steadily improving. If you’re unfamiliar, this is the RPG series where game consoles are represented as cute girls who fight videogame piracy. The first game…was not very good. The second was actually decent but had a weak main character that made much of the game feel like a slog. This third one looks to build upon the solid foundation of the second game and improve from there. Graphics look better, there are more characters, things are more flashy, and the plot has me very interested. In this one, Neptune travels back in time to an alternate 1989 and teams up with the Famicom, Genesis, PS1, Original XBox, and eventually even the PC-Engine! Sweet! If it’s as good as I hope it is, it’s getting GameBabbled. This series takes a lot of crap for its overly anime-styled nature and I’d like to give it a fair shake. Similarly, Idea Factory also takes a lot of needless crap! I’d love to mark this as an actually good Idea Factory game!
03/24

Luigi’s Mansion: Dark Moon (3DS)

Personally, I missed out on Luigi’s Mansion. Meanwhile I have a friend who considers it one of the best Mario games because it’s so different. He’s quite happy to see a sequel and I’m pretty interested in giving this a shot too.

03/26

BioShock Infinite (360, PS3)

BioShock was neat but not quite my cup of tea. This one, however, looks kinda neat. I just can’t tell which console I want it on. All my friends have 360 so if the multiplayer is ANYTHING worthwhile then I want it there. Otherwise PS3 because it was supposed to have Move support and I’m assuming it still does. If not? 360. Yeah, gonna wait a few days after release on this one.

Pandora’s Tower (Wii)

Hey, remember that third Operation Rainfall game? Guess what? It’s coming to America…NOW! Yeah, surprised me too! Figured there would be some kind of fanfare or commotion, right? Wrong!

03/28

HarmoKnight (3DS)

Hey! GameFreak gets to make a non-Pokemon game and it’s something musical! Neat!

PreCure All-Stars: Zenin Shuugou * Let’s Dance! (Wii JP Only)

We Cheer 3! It’s We Cheer 3 with Pretty Cure! This is the one time I am listing a Japanese release because I just cannot contain my excitement. THIS is a great sendoff for the Wii! Yes, this is the last Wii game out of Japan.

Explore posts in the same categories: New Releases

6 Comments on “New Releases – March 2013”

  1. Sleepy Says:

    Nice list. I’m also looking forward to Lego City Undercover.

    Bioshock Infinite doesn’t have multiplayer by the way. Also the PS3 version includes the first game on the disc so there’s extra value in that version.

    I played the demo for Castlevania: Mirror of Fate and I wasn’t really all that impressed. Regardless, I still bought the game and I’m actually enjoying it a lot. I’m right now on the Alucard chapter.

    As for the Neptunia Victory Gamebabble, I think you should make it into a retrospective talking about the first two games before going into the review for Victory.

    • GEL Says:

      XD Doesn’t EVERY GameBabble episode open with a retrospective whether I like it or not? Seriously. It’s like a reflex! So yeah, THAT is happening.

      Mostly to acknowledge that the first game was not-so-great. I remember it got pretty bad reviews and that scared away a lot of my friends and…I couldn’t disagree with them. I mean it was basically a worse Trinity Universe with only the writing and characters really holding it together. But then the second one was a HUGE improvement though it still fell a little short (as I felt Nepgear was a lackluster heroine). THIS TIME? Well I think third time could be a charm. I played the Japanese demo and I see a steady increase in quality with each game. So yeah if it turns out as good as I HOPE it does, I’d like to have the message “If you play just one Neptunia game, make it this one.”

      Forgot about Lego City Undercover. Mildly interested in that, yeah.

  2. denpanosekai Says:

    I like your style. I’m also getting Neptunia and Pandora’s Tower. I don’t hate Monster Hunter but I also happen to enjoy its clones more!

  3. Billy Says:

    I don’t know if it was pushed back, or stores just jumped the gun and released an incorrect date, but Pandora’s Tower is April 16, not March 26. That puts it over a year behind the European/Australian releases, and month shy of two years behind Japan.


Leave a Reply

